• Home
  • About
  • Contact
  • Admin
  • Queens
  • Disciplines
  • Rifle Ranges
  • Calendar
  • Grading
  • Results
  • State Teams
  • Shop
  • News
  • Links
  • Sponsors
2016 Competition Reports


Warracknabeal Open Prize Meeting 2016

Two day Aggregate winners: From Left to Right - Rod Davis FTR, Mark Horsnell TR A, Malcolm Bennett TR B, Danny Sandford F Std A, Rod Duncan F Std B, Robert Bant FO. - Missing Daniel Clothier TR C

Over 50 shooters braved the frost and fog at Warracknabeal over the weekend. For many people it was their first taste of electronic targets. Overall comments were pretty positive. It definitely made the job of the Range Officer easier as no one could challenge a shot. The conditions meant some changes to the program, but the warm welcome and hospitality in the Club hut meant that everyone went away happy. Mark Horsnell (Bacchus Marsh) continued his run of good scores to narrowly take out the TR A aggregate with a score of 322.43 from Kieran McCamley 322.36 (Shepparton/Nathalia).


Victorian Winners at the Darwin Queens 2016

Victorian winners at the NT Queens - Di Jonker - F Standard B, Phil Jonker - F Open and Jeff Thorp - F/TR

Results here


National Veterans Teams Matches 2016

Held at the Wellsford Rifle Range on the 10th and 11th April.

The Victorian Veterans Team was very successful, with wins by both Target Rifle Teams and one of the F Class pairs.

Report by Robyn Jackman

Target Rifle – Masters Match Results

Target Rifle – Combined Results

F Class – Ernie Mace Match Results

F Class – Combined Results


ECDRA Easter Monday prize shoot a great success

The Violet Town range of the East Central District Rifle Association was at full capacity as 37 precision shooters from Victoria and New South Wales, in seven different classes, contested the annual Easter Monday prize shoot. The brilliant Autumn weather brought with it a breeze that proved to quite a challenge at both the 300 and 600 yard ranges. Two of the ECDRA’s newest shooters Des Coulter and Marty Kelly took on the challenge, despite the fact that they had been members for less than two weeks.
For the ECDRA Des Coulter won first place in F class Standard B grade at 300yards with a 58.5. Jack Muir was at his consistent best and with 58.3 and 57.2 and a total score of 115.5 won F class standard B and was top score for the ECDRA. Geoff James got off to a steady start but at 600 yards his experience in reading the conditions shone through as he top scored (inches class) with a 58.3. Despite the challenging conditions Noel Uren (60,.5 at 300 yards), Tony Barker 50.9 (300yards)Peter Daldy 50.4,(300 yards), Neil Gamble (60.2 300 yards), John Branton (50.7 600 yards) all shot the maximum score for their class. It was Peter Daldy from Karramomus Club who stole the show with the best score of the day of 99.5 only one point of the maximum score of 100.10 in his Target Rifle class. Vaughn Murphy (ECDRA) as range officer, ensured that the day ran like clockwork and the visitors enjoyed their day, thanks Vaughan. The competitors did not have to share in the marking as Rosco Davis, Richard Godden and Graeme Kerr marked targets for the entire match a great effort and a task that was much appreciated by all shooters. This year Robert Chaffe had the assistance of Alan Wright in the office and for the first time the results from the shoot were posted on the internet as soon as the range was completed. This ensured that the results were available anywhere in the world before the first visitors were finished their afternoon cuppa. The visiting shooters complemented the ECDRA on the range facilities including the excellent targets as well as the hospitality and the very welcome cuppa available throughout the day. Many are planning to return next year.

The results (full results on the NRAA web site) for the Prize shoot were:
300 yards - Target Rifle A grade Tony Barker 50.9, B grade Peter Daldy 50.4, C grade Garry Mull 44.2, F Standard A grade Noel Uren 60.5, F Standard B grade Des Coulter 58.5, F Open G. Warrian, 58.1 FT/R Jason Li 57.5.

Opening shots at 300 yard Mound Second from the bottom of the image is Jack Muir who won F Standard second from the top FT/R winner Rolf Carpeggiani.

A study in concentration at the Violet Town ECDRA range 600 yard shooting mound with Jack Muir (centre) keeping score for Des Coulter ( the left hander in the middle,his first ever 600 yard shoot)

600 yards - Target Rifle A grade John Branton 50.7, B grade Peter Daldy 49.1, C grade Brian McKenna 47.4 F standard A grade Richard McRae 56.4, F Standard B grade Geoff James 58.3 and F Open G Warren 58.3

Aggregate winners:
Target Rifle A grade Tony Barker 98.12, B grade Peter Daldy 99.5, C grade Brian Mc Kenna 88.5,

F Standard A grade Noel Uren 116.5,

F Standard B grade Jack Muir 115.5,

F Open G Warrian 116.4 and

FT/R Rolf Carpeggiani 108.2

Other Winners:
Two year aggregate 2015 2016 Shawn Tinkler 232.11

Easter aggregate (Ovens and Murray DRA and East Central DRA 2016) Tony Barker 271.32 ( possible score 275)

ECDRA highest Score: Jack Muir 115.5

Veteran: Peter Daldy 99.5

Super Veteran: Noel Uren 116.8

Junior Blade: Lacy 81.2


Corangamite Shield 2016

ONE of Victoria’s oldest shooting trophies was contested at the Warrnambool Rifle Range last weekend.

Rifle shooters contested for the time-honoured Corangamite Shield. The competition first went ahead in 1907, when member for Corangamite J. C. Manifold donated the trophy and invited clubs in the electorate to compete.

Successful Club for 2016 was the Bacchus Marsh Rifle Club

Winners are "Grinners"

Back L/R - Geoffrey Grayson, Bernie Hawes, Charles Greer, Steven Atkinson, Ken Reither

Front L/R - James Grayson, Tony Ivankovic, Mark Horsnell


Victorians enjoying the Tasmanian Queens series

Davis-Llewellyn Leadup - Michael Hall - F/TR winner, Bob Pedersen - F Open winner and Don Laughton 2nd in F/TR

Peter Maher 1st Target Rifle A in the Davis-Llewellyn

Doug Ratcliff - 1st Target Rifle B in the Davis-Llewellyn

Queens Winners - Bob Pedersen F Open and Susie Ryan F Standard A

South Bendigo Club Members - much happiness during the Queens.


Service and Classic Rifle OPM

Happy winners on the day L/R Paul Jeffery, Alan Cox, James Mumford, David Reeves, Frankie Griffo, Alan Mills, Nicholas Blennerhassett and Dave Rushbrook


Classic Rifle - 500 yards Application

Service Rifle - 500 yards Application


Summer by the Sea at Warrnambool

Summer by the sea Aggregate winners

Doug Chalmers FTR, Mark Horsnell TRB, Geoffrey Grenfell TRA, Myles McCormack TRC, Roger Teal FO, Morrie Jackman FStd, Trevor Rhodes FStd, Wayne Boschetti, TRA, Paul Jeffreys TRC, Peter Maher TRA

Warrnambool certainly lived up to its reputation of “Windy Warrnambool” this year. For 5 days shooters were subjected to extreme heat, freezing cold, light rain and wind, wind, wind!
However, despite the challenging conditions everyone just got on with the job and kept shooting and in the end some pretty good scores were recorded. It also helped that the members of the SWDRA went all out as usual to make sure that everyone had a good time.

The major event, the Jim Cue Memorial Marathon – 10 shots at 6 ranges – 300, 500, 600, 700, 800 & 900yds all in 1 day was once again won by Geoff Grenfell in TRA with a score of 294.23. Other winners on the day were Tony Ivankovic TRB 277.17, Paul Jeffery TRC 276.13, Daniel Bennett FO 334.16, Trevor Rhodes F Standard 330.14 & Alan Blain, F/TR 323.12.

Marathon - TRA Geoff Grenfell

Marathon - TRB Tony Ivankovic

Marathon - TRC Paul Jeffreys

Marathon - F Open Daniel Bennett

Marathon - F Standard Trevor Rhodes and F/TR Alan Blain